Cpa Exam Requirements

 

 US States Cpa Requirements

CPA requirements in Vermont  

A CPA works in business and government positions as a chief financial officer, controller and tax consultants. The CPA in Vermont, has to meet specific requirements and they have to pass the uniform examination to get the license. The state issues license to CPAs who can demonstrate competency in accounting principles and practices. Vermont are more flexible with requirements, when compared to other states and they only require 120 credit hours with bachelor degree to earn a CPA license. CPA exam students have to fulfill certain requirements to be eligible to sit for the uniform exam. There is no need of state residency or US residency for candidates to attend the CPA exam. The minimum age of students are not being given by the state board who wishes to attend the CPA exam.  

Education Requirements  

CPA candidates must have a bachelor degree or above to appear for the exam. They should earn degree from an accredited university with 120 semester units. The degree earned must include 30 semester units of accounting courses and business courses. You must have done 6 hours of financial or managerial accounting, 3 hours of auditing, 3 hours of US income tax and 3 hours of US business law. Candidates may sit for the CPA exam 60 days prior to meeting educational requirement. From 2014, students are required to have 150 credit hours in their education.  

Exam Fees  

The exam fees for all four sections of the CPA exam in Vermont is $743 plus the initial application fees $220. The re-examination registration fees varies depending on the number of sections students choose to attend. The fees for auditing and attestation is $195.35 and for business environment and concepts is $176.25. The exam fees for financial accounting and reporting is $195.35 and for regulation the fees are $176.25 . Students should not apply and pay for exam sections that will not be taken within 6 months because the notice to schedule in Vermont expires 6 months after issuance. The uniform CPA examination is computer based test administered by independent testing centers. Students can complete all the four sections within 18 months before they lose credit.

CPA License Requirements

All CPA students must complete 42 semester hours in accounting and business courses. Students are required to have earned 1 to 4 years of public or nonpublic accounting work experience depending upon whether you hold a bachelor or master degree. The work experience has to be supervised and verified by an active licensed CPA or equivalent such as a CPA from Australia, CA from Australia, Canada, Ireland and Mexico. The work experience has to be gained any time within 4 years prior to the exam and 4 years after the exam. All CPA candidates must pass the AICPA ethics exam and the cost of the course for AICPA members are $149 or $119.  

Students must pass all four sections of the CPA exam with a score 75% or higher and complete the verified accounts work experience. Submit the CPA license application paper with license application fees. CPAs in Vermont have to renew the license every two years. Renewal applicant has to complete 80 hours of continuing education within 2 years of the time period. Students must do 8 hours of continuing education in auditing and accounting. The state board of accountancy in Vermont has determined suitable subject areas to meet the continuing education requirement.

HOME
U.S. States
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
New York
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Texas
Tennessee
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington